Sweden wins World Mixed Curling Championship

2023 World Mixed Curling champions, Sweden © WCF / Will Palmer

2023 World Mixed Curling champions, Sweden © WCF / Will Palmer

Sweden won the World Mixed Curling Championship 2023, after beating Spain in Saturday afternoon’s gold medal final by 8-2.

Sweden earned their spot in the final by beating Canada by 7-4 in Saturday morning’s semi-final. Spain had a 4-3 victory over Norway in the other semi-final.

In the gold medal game, the teams exchanged single-point scores in the first two ends.

In the third, Sweden stole a single when Spanish skip Sergio Vez wrecked on a guard on the way to the house with his final stone.

In the fourth end, Spain could have scored two points, but needed to settle for one, as Vez was heavy with his last draw attempt. The teams were tied at 2-2 at the half-time break.

Sweden started the second half of the final in an excellent manner, and put three points on the board in the fifth end.

In the sixth, Vez’s last hit-and-roll attempt to score multiple points wasn’t successful, and Sweden stole three. At this point, Sweden were leading the game by 8-2, which was enough for Spain to concede the game and settle for silver.

The Spanish team were playing their last six games of the championship with three players as their lead, Leire Otaegi needed to leave the competition earlier due to personal reasons.

Bronze for Canada

Canada took the bronze medals after a low-scoring back-and-forth game against Norway.

The teams went into the break tied at 1-1.

After a score of one in the fifth and a steal of one in the sixth, Norway were leading by two points. In the seventh end, Canada scored two to tie the game at 3-3, going into the eighth.

In the eighth end, Norway’s fourth player, Steffen Walstad was light with his last draw attempt, and Canada managed to steal a single point to win the bronze medals.

Gold medal game result: Sweden 8-2 Spain

Bronze medal game result: Norway 3-4 Canada

The medal-winning teams

The gold medal winning Swedish team: skip Johan Nygren, third Jennie Waahlin, second Fredrik Carlsen and lead Fanny Sjoeberg, supported by their coach Per Carlsen.

The silver medal winning Spanish team: skip Sergio Vez; third Oihane Otaegi, second Mikel Unanue and lead Leire Otaegi.

The bronze medal winning Canadian team: skip Felix Asselin, third Laurie St-Georges, second Emile Asselin and lead Emily Riley, supported by their coach Michel St-Georges.

All results from the championship are available here.

You can watch the video-on-demand replays of all games on the Curling Channel.

Engage with the World Curling Federation about the World Mixed Curling Championship 2023 on TwitterInstagramTikTokFacebook and Weibo and by searching the hashtags #WorldMixed and #curling

Aberdeen, Scotland

21 October 2023
World Mixed Curling Championship 2023