Athlete Commission

The role of the Athlete Commission is to communicate the interests of high-performance curlers and to act as the collective voice for those curlers. It works in cooperation with the World Curling Federation to achieve its mission.

The Athlete Commission acts as the link between high performance athletes, the Board, the Rules and Competition Commission as well as the IOC Athletes Commission.

To be eligible to be nominated to the Athlete Commission you must have represented your Member Association in a World “A” Championships or Olympic/Paralympic Games in the prior five years in any of the four Olympic and Paralympic medal disciplines (Women’s, Men’s, Mixed Doubles and Wheelchair).

The Athlete Commission strives to have diversity among its members. It comprises athletes of both genders and from all curling disciplines – women, men, mixed doubles and wheelchair. It also has representation from across the three World Curling zones – America, Europe and Pacific-Asia.

When elected, members of the commission will serve terms of four year, unless specifically noted in the Commission Terms of Reference.

The current members of the Commission are: Chair, Jill Officer (Canada), Tyler George (United States), Anna Kubeskova (Czech Republic), Harri Lill (Estonia), Rune Lorentsen (Norway) and Benoit Schwarz (Switzerland).

The Chair of the Commission now holds a place on the World Curling Federation Board for their term.

The Athlete Commission can be contacted by email, [email protected]

Related Links