Frances Brodie Award

© WCF / Steve Seixeiro

Frances Brodie was the driving force behind the group which established the first World Ladies Curling Championship in 1979 and chaired the first Official Ladies Committee of the International Curling Federation, later renamed the World Curling Federation.

In 1989, her contribution to world curling was recognised by the Federation with the introduction of an award in her name, which has been presented at the conclusion of each World Women’s Curling Championship since then.

The recipient is selected by the curlers participating in the event, to honour the curler who, “by deed and action in the course of their performance, best exemplified the traditional curling values of skill, honesty, fair play, friendship and sportsmanship.”

For many years, Frances attended these championships to make the presentation herself and until her death in 2006, she wrote to the recipient to offer her personal congratulations.

Year Awardee (Country) Awarded at championships in:
2021 Alina Paetz (Switzerland) Calgary, Canada
2019 Rui Wang (China) Silkeborg, Denmark
2018 Jill Officer (Canada) North Bay, Canada
2017 Bingyu Wang (China) Beijing, China
2016 Irene Schori (Switzerland) Swift Current, Canada
2015 Sanna Puustinen (Finland) Sapporo, Japan
2014 Alison Kreviazuk (Canada) Saint John, Canada
2013 Corinna Scholz (Germany) Riga, Latvia
2012 Eve Muirhead (Scotland) Lethbridge, Canada
2011 Henriette Løvar (Norway) Esbjerg, Denmark
2010 Linn Githmark (Norway) Swift Current, Canada
2009 Marianne Rørvik (Norway) Gangneung, Korea
2008 Mirjam Ott (Switzerland) Vernon, Canada
2007 Lindsay Wood (Scotland) Aomori, Japan
2006 Junko Sonobe (Japan) Grande Prairie, Canada
2005 Cassie Johnson (United States) Paisley, Scotland
2004 Madeleine Dupont (Denmark) Gävle, Sweden
2003 Dordi Nordby (Norway) Winnipeg, Canada
2002 Mi-Yeon Kim (Korea) Bismark, United States
2001 Ann Swisshelm Silver (United States) Lausanne, Switzerland
2000 Rhona Martin (Scotland) Glasgow, Scotland
1999 Marianne Aspelin (Norway) Saint John, Canada
1998 Jackie Lockhart (Scotland) Kamloops, Canada
1997 Jaana Jokela (Finland)* Berne, Switzerland
1996 Kirsty Hay (Scotland) Hamilton, Canada
1995 Ayako Ishigaki (Japan) Brandon, Canada
1994 Helena Blach-Lavrsen (Denmark) Oberstdorf, Germany
1993 Jaana Jokela (Finland)* Geneva, Switzerland
1992 Amy Hatten Wright (United States) Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
1991 Veronika Huber (Austria) Winnipeg, Canada
1990 Almut Hege-Schöll (Germany) Vasteras, Sweden
1989 Cristina Lestander (Switzerland) Milwaukee, United States
  * denotes two time winner