Paralympic qualification

The wheelchair curling competition at the Paralympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 will comprise 12 teams.

Curling will be played in the Ice Cube – also known as the Beijing National Aquatics Centre – from Saturday 5 to Sunday 13 March 2022.



China qualifies automatically as the host.

The remaining 11 places will be offered to the National Paralympic Committees, of the Member Associations of the World Curling Federation, who have gained the most qualifying points from the World Wheelchair Curling Championships held in 2019, 2020, and 2021.

Member Associations will be ranked at the world championships, and then Paralympic Qualification Points will be awarded, according to The Rules of Curling, specifically Rules of Competition, C9. Team Ranking Procedure / Draw Shot Challenge.

Each season points are allocated to the Member Associations ranked from 1-12 in the following order: 14, 12, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1.


Paralympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 qualification procedure

Qualification Points

  201920202021Paralympic Qualification Points
1China **1491437
2RCF ***6141030
4Scotland *124723
10United States of America20911
14Czech Republic0101
* Points for Great Britain are gained by Scotland at World Wheelchair Curling Championships.
** China as the host of the Paralympic Winter Games 2022 are guaranteed qualification.
*** Representing Russian Curling Federation following the Court of Arbitration of Sport’s decision regarding Russian Competitors.