Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships 2019

16 November - 23 November 2019 | Helsingborg, Sweden

#curling #ECC2019

loading animation

The Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships are for women’s and men’s teams from the World Curling Federation’s European zone. These championships qualify teams for the World Curling Championships and World Qualification Event.

The European championships are divided into A, B and C Divisions. Teams in the A-Division can qualify for the World Curling Championships. In 2019, seven women’s and eight men’s teams – including Scotland as World Men’s hosts – qualify from the European zone to the Worlds. The two highest ranked teams behind the World qualifiers in the A-Division and the winners and runners-up in the B-Division earn places at the World Qualification Event. Each season, two teams are relegated from the A-Division; in the B-Division two teams are promoted and two are relegated, and in the C-Division two are promoted.

The A and B Divisions are played together in November and the C-Division is held in April/May each season.