Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2019 set for Shenzen, China

China's skip, Yu Han, at the World Junior Curling Championships 2019 © WCF / Richard Gray

The Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2019 will take place at the Shenzhen Universiade Sports Center in Shenzhen, China, from Saturday 2 November.

The championships will run for one week up until Saturday 9 November. The event will see teams from ten of the World Curling Federation’s 64 Member Associations. They are playing for their place in the season’s upcoming World Curling Championships.

For the first time since 2006, Chinese Taipei women will be making an appearance at these championships. Also, Nigeria men will make their debut, becoming the first African team to take part in the Pacific-Asia event.

All together the championships will feature eight women’s teams and ten men’s teams. They are:

Women: Australia, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea and Qatar.
Men: Australia, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Nigeria, New Zealand and Qatar.

The women’s defending champion nation, Korea, will feature a new team skipped by Chi Un Gim. The Koreans face Japan’s Ikue Kitazawa in their opener. Hosts, China, skipped by Yu Han will open against Hong Kong’s Ling-Yue Hung.

Joining Nigeria are last year’s silver medallists, hosts China, skipped by Qiang Zou, who will begin their quest for gold against New Zealand. Defending champions, Japan, led by Yuta Matsumura, will look to defend their title as they face Australia in their opening game.


System of play

China’s vice-skip, Jiafeng Tian, at the World Junior Curling Championships 2018 © WCF / Emile Gareev

The men’s round-robin stage will begin at 14:00 on Saturday 2 November and run until 14:00 Thursday 7 November. The women’s round-robin stage begins at 19:00 on Saturday 2 November and concludes at 09:00 on Thursday 7 November.

At the end of the round robin, teams will be ranked in each gender, and teams in the top four positions will progress to semi-finals. Just like the Olympics, the team ranked first will play the fourth-ranked team (1v4) and the second and third-placed teams will compete together (2v3).

The women’s semi-finals take place at 18:00 on Thursday 7 November and 09:00 on Friday 8 November. The men’s semi-finals take place on Friday 8 November at 09:00 and 14:00.

The women’s bronze medal game will be played at 19:00 on Friday 8 November. Meanwhile, the men’s bronze medal game is on Saturday 9 November at 11:00. The women’s gold medal game is at the same time, 11:00, on 9 November. Finally, the men’s gold medal game is afterwards, at 15:00.

The Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2019 will see the women’s gold and silver medallists qualify directly for the World Women’s Curling Championship 2020 in Prince George, Canada (14-22 March).

In the men’s competition, only the gold medallists will qualify for the LGT World Men’s Curling Championship 2020 in Glasgow, Scotland (28 March-5 April). In addition, the women’s third and fourth place finishers, and the men’s silver and bronze winners, will be invited to compete in the World Qualification Event 2020, in Lohja, Finland (13-18 January).


On television

World Curling TV will be producing select games during the round robin and play-offs. Further details of broadcasting from the championships will be shared on the event website as it becomes available.

All times are China Standard Time (CST), which is eight (+8) hours ahead of Universal Coordinated Time.


Follow all the action from the Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2019 by following on TwitterInstagram, Facebook and Weibo. Search: #PACC2019 #curling

Shenzhen, China

28 October 2019