WCF Annual General Assembly 2013

The World Curling Federation (WCF) and the Sochi 2014 organising committee have released the schedules of play for the curling competition at the Olympic Winter Games and wheelchair curling competition at the Paralympic Winter Games.

The schedules can be viewed on the WCF official website for the games in Sochi: http://sochi2014.worldcurling.net and the Sochi 2014 event website: www.sochi2014.com

Olympic Curling Schedule: http://sochi2014.worldcurling.net/owg-2014-schedule-of-play
Paralympic Wheelchair Curling Schedule: http://sochi2014.worldcurling.net/pwg-2014-schedule-of-play

The schedules were released during the second annual World Curling Congress in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Ten men’s and ten women’s teams will compete in the Olympic curling competition which will run from 10-21 February 2014 in the Ice Cube Curling Centre in Sochi, Russia.

Eight of the ten teams are already known, following their performance in the 2012 & 2013 World Curling Championships. Women: Russia as host, Canada, Denmark, Great Britain, Korea, Sweden, Switzerland and USA. Men: Russia as host, Canada, China, Denmark, Great Britain, Norway, Sweden and Switzerland.

The remaining two teams for the both the men’s and women’s events will qualify out of the WCF’s inaugural Olympic Qualification Event which will take place from 10-15 December 2013 in Fuessen, Germany. http://sochi2014.worldcurling.net/oqe

Ten mixed teams will compete in the Paralympic wheelchair curling competition which will be staged at the same venue from 8-15 March 2014. The teams are: Russia as host, Canada, China, Great Britain, Finland, Korea, Norway, Slovakia, Sweden and USA.

During the World Curling Congress the WCF’s newly formed Athlete Commission and Competitions & Rules Commission met for the first time.

At the Federation’s Annual General Assembly on Monday, members approved a new constitutional structure for the WCF which will see the Executive Board reformed to include a president, three zonal vice-presidents (from the WCF’s Americas, European and Pacific-Asia zones) and four directors.

It was announced that the World Women’s Curling Championship in 2015 has been awarded to the city of Sapporo on the northern island of Hokkaido in Japan.

Federation members also voted to accept three new provisional Member Associations: Israel, Georgia and Ukraine (1).

Bulgaria was re-instated as a member, with the WCF now recognising the Bulgarian Curling Federation. Armenia remains suspended.

The 3rd Annual World Curling Congress will take place at the Peppermill Resort, Reno, Nevada, USA from 4-8 September 2014. The 2014 WCF Annual General Assembly will be on the 7 September.

(1) Israel was previously a member of the WCF (1999-2008). Ukraine was a member from 2003 to 2007.

Copenhagen, Denmark

2 September 2013