Malcolm Richardson to be awarded 2010 World Curling Freytag Award

The World Curling Federation (WCF) has announced that Malcolm Richardson, former President of the European Curling Federation (ECF), will be awarded the 2010 World Curling Freytag Award.

The announcement was made during the WCF’s semi-annual General Assembly which took place during the European Championships in Aberdeen, Scotland.

Malcolm Richardson, from Scotland, stood down as President of the European Curling Federation in December 2008.

“The World Curling Federation wishes to congratulate the 2010 World Curling Freytag Award winner, Malcolm Richardson. Malcolm’s dedication over many years to curling’s administration through the Royal Caledonian Curling Club and as president of the ECF, made him an excellent choice to receive this prestigious award,” said World Curling Federation President Les Harrison.

The World Curling Freytag Award honours curlers or individuals who have distinguished themselves and or made an outstanding contribution to the development of curling internationally.

“I am utterly overwhelmed” said Malcolm Richardson. “I thought I had come here to meet old curling friends. When I look at the people who have received the World Curling Freytag Award in the past, I am honoured to be counted among them.”

The official presentation of the award will take place during the Capital One World Men’s Curling Championship 2010, in Cortina d’Ampezzo, Italy in April.

Aberdeen, Scotland

7 December 2009