Connect with the WCF
Find us on Facefook
Follow WCFMedia on Twitter
Follow WorldCurling on Twitter
Connect on LinkedIn
Find us on Google+
WCF video on YouTube


World Financial Group Continental Cup 2013


Started Thu Jan 10, 2013
Ended Sun Jan 13, 2013

South Okanagan Events Centre
853 Eckhardt Avenue West
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada

World Financial Group Continental Cups
  World Financial Group Continental Cup 2012
  World Financial Group Continental Cup 2011

The World Financial Group Continental Cup brings together the finest curlers on the international scene to compete in a unique format where Team World faces Team North America in different disciplines.

Six teams are on each side – three men’s and three women’s. They face each other during this four day event in regular Team curling games, Mixed Doubles, Singles, Mixed Skins and Skins games.

Team World (then Team Europe) won in 2003 (Thunder Bay, Canada), 2006 (Chilliwack), 2008 (Camrose) & 2012 (Langley).

North America won in 2002 (Regina), 2004 & 2007 (Medicine Hat) & 2011 (St Albert).

For ticket and event information, visit:

For the 2013 WFG Continental Cup, a new points system will also be in place. A total of 60 points is now available, meaning the side which earns more than 30 points will be declared the champion.

For the six Mixed Doubles and six Singles matches, one point will be awarded for each victory, one-half point if tied). There will now be 18 team games (nine men’s and nine women’s) played, instead of the previous 12, each worth one point for a win, one-half point for a tie. All games are eight ends and there are no extra ends. There will also be six Skins games, with each game worth a total of five points to the winner.

The winning side receives $52,000 Cdn ($2,000 per member, including captain and coach), while the losing side gets $26,000 ($1,000 per member, including captain and coach). As well, the side which generates the highest points total from the six Skins games will receive an additional $13,000 ($500 per player, plus captain and coach).

The Canadian Sports broadcaster, TSN, will provide complete coverage of the Cup inside Canada and this coverage will be available to curling fans outside Canada to enjoy via the World Curling Federation website

L-R: Tom Brewster, Greg Drummond, Scott Andrews, Michael Goodfellow. Photo: WCF / CCA
L-R: Thomas Ulsrud, Torger Nergård, Christoffer Svae, Håvard Vad Petersson. Photo: WCF / CCA
L-R: Niklas Edin, Sebastian Kraupp, Fredrik Lindberg, Viktor Kjäll. Photo: WCF / CCA
L-R: Mirjam Ott, Carmen Schäfer, Carmen Küng, Janine Greiner. Photo: WCF / CCA
L-R: Eve Muirhead, Anna Sloan, Vicki Adams, Claire Hamilton. Photo: WCF / CCA
L-R: Margaretha Sigfridsson, Christina Bertrup, Maria Wennerström, Maria Prytz. Photo: WCF / CCA
L-R: Glenn Howard, Wayne Middaugh, Brent Laing, Craig Savill. Photo: CCA
L-R: Kevin Martin, John Morris, Marc Kennedy, Ben Hebert. Photo: CCA
L-R: Heath McCormick, Matt Hames, Bill Stopera, Dean Gemmell. Photos: USCA
L-R: Heather Nedohin, Beth Iskiw, Jessica Mair, Laine Peters. Photo: WCF / CCA
L-R: Jennifer Jones, Kaitlyn Lawes, Jill Officer, Dawn Askin. Photo: CCA
L-R: Allison Pottinger, Nicole Joraanstad, Natalie Nicholson, Tabitha Peterson Photo: WCF / CCA