World Curling Freytag Award

The World Curling Freytag Award is a tribute to the late Elmer Freytag of the U.S Curling Association, one of the founding members of the International Curling Federation (now WCF).

The family of the late Ray Kingsmith's accept the 2011 World Curling Freytag Award from WCF President Kate Caithness. Photo: CCA/Michael Burns Photography

It honours curlers for world-championship-level playing ability, sportsmanship, character and the achievement of extraordinary distinction; and/or builders, individuals who are honoured for distinguished service and major contributions to the development and advancement of international curling.

World Curling Freytag Award Recipients

Year Curler/Builder Award Recipient/Country
2010 Builder Malcolm Richardson, Scotland
2009 Curler Sandra Schmirler, Canada (posthumously)
2008 Builder Leslie Ingram-Brown, Scotland
2007 Builder Roy Sinclair, Scotland
2006 Builder Kunio Nando, Japan
2004/2005 Not awarded
2003 Builder Bob Whitehead, USA (posthumously)
2002 Builder Franz Tanner, Switzerland
2001 Builder Shirley Morash, Canada
Curler Raymond (Bud) Somerville, USA
2000 Builder Bob Hardy, USA
Curler Ernie Richardson, Canada
1998/1999 Not awarded
1997 Erwin Sautter, Switzerland
1996 Elizabeth Paterson-Brown, Scotland
1995 Not awarded
1994 Keith Wendorf, Germany
1991/92/93 Not awarded

Elmer Freytag Award Recipients

Year Award recipient/Country
1990 Colin Campbell, Canada (posthumously)
1989 Don McKay, USA
1988 Kay Sugahara, USA
1987 Bob Picken, Canada
1986 Art Cobb, USA
1985 Don McLeod, Canada
1984 Robin Welsh, Scotland
1983 Mabel Deware, Canada
1982 Sven Eklund, Sweden
1981 Doug Maxwell, Canada
1980 Bob Grierson, Scotland
1979 Chuck Hay, Scotland
1978 Ken Watson, Canada

In This Section

World Curling Freytag Award 2011

The family of the late Ray Kingsmith has received the 2011 World Curling Freytag Award at a special ceremony which took place during the opening banquet of the 2011 Ford World Men’s Curling ...MORE

World Curling Freytag Award 2009 – Sandra Schmirler

Legendary Canadian women's skip Sandra Schmirler was officially awarded the World Curling Freytag Award at the Opening Banquet of the Ford World Men’s Curling Championship 2009 in Moncton, ...MORE

Malcolm Richardson to be awarded 2010 World Curling Freytag Award

The World Curling Federation (WCF) has announced that Malcolm Richardson, former President of the European Curling Federation (ECF), will be awarded the 2010 World Curling Freytag Award. ...MORE