Third World Mixed Curling Championship sets record number of entries

  • Photo © WCF / Alina Androsova

International curling returns to Champéry, Switzerland this week where the World Mixed Curling Championship 2017 will take place.

The event will run from Friday 6 October until Saturday 14 October in the Palladium de Champéry. Now, in its third year, the championship continues to attract record numbers with 38 teams taking to the ice this season, including debuts from Luxemburg and Hong Kong.

The 38 competing Member Associations (MAs) will be split into five groups. They are:

Group A: Croatia, Estonia, Hungary, Japan, defending champions Russia, Slovenia and Wales
Group B: Belarus, Brazil, France, Italy, Latvia, Sweden and USA
Group C: Denmark, Spain, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Korea, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Scotland
Group D: Austria, Czech Republic, Finland, Hong Kong, Israel, Norway, hosts Switzerland, and Slovakia
Group E: Australia, Canada, China, England, Germany, Netherlands, Poland and Turkey

The World Mixed Curling Championship is an open entry event for all World Curling Federation (WCF) Member Associations. Each MA can enter one mixed team consisting of two female and two male athletes. Unlike men’s and women’s curling no alternates are used.

Round-robin play will begin at 14:45 on Friday 6 October and after 26 sessions will conclude with the final draw at 20:00 on Thursday 12 October.

Two rounds of last 16 play-off games will take place on Friday 13 October at 09:00 and 13:00 and will be followed that evening at 19:00 with a round of quarter-final games.

Semi-final games will take place on Saturday 14 October at 09:00 and are followed by the gold and bronze finals at 14:00 that afternoon.

Hosts Switzerland open their championship against Czech Republic on Friday 6 October at 18:30 while defending champions, Russia, begin the following day at 12:00 against Croatia.

While there will be many familiar faces taking part in the championship, the only teams returning in full from last year’s event are Austria and Slovenia.

Austria are skipped by Andreas Unterberger, with Hannah Augustin in third, Gernot Higatzberger in second and Celine Moser playing lead. Slovenia are skipped by Jure Culic, with Ajda Zavrtanik Drglin in third, Gregor Verbinc in second and Lea Tehovnik playing lead.

Other athletes of note are, two times world curling champion Andrea Schoepp, who will vice-skip for Germany, current world junior champion, Isabella Wranaa who leads Sweden and 2014 World Mixed Doubles bronze medallist Sergio Vez, skip for Spain.

Select play-off games, including the gold medal final will be broadcast live on the World Curling Federation YouTube channel from Friday 13 October -

To keep up-to-date with all the action from the WMxCC 2017 follow us on Twitter, Instagram (@worldcurling) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation) and use the hashtags: #WMxCC2017 #curling