Teams confirmed for 2011 World Financial Group Continental Cup

The seventh edition of this unique international curling competition will take place from 13-16 January at the Servus Credit Union Place in St Albert, Alberta. The event, which has often been compared to golf’s Ryder Cup, will see six teams from North America competing against six teams from the rest of the world in various games over the four days - regular Team curling, Mixed Doubles, Singles, Mixed Skins and Skins matches.

Like golf’s Ryder Cup, each segment awards points for wins (or ties), with the first side to reach 200 points declared the winner. Currently, North America and Team World are tied on three wins apiece since the inaugural Continental Cup was contested in 2002 in Regina.

Representing Team World will be teams skipped by Scotland’s David Murdoch from Lockerbie, Norway’s Thomas Ulsrud of Oslo, Sweden’s Niklas Edin from Karlstad, China’s Bingyu Wang of Harbin, Germany’s Andrea Schöpp of Garmisch-Partenkirchen and Switzerland’s Mirjam Ott from Davos.

The captain for Team World is 2002 Olympic gold medallist Pål Trulsen from Norway while Sweden’s Peja Lindholm, a three-time world champion, is the coach, the same positions they held when directing Team World to victory at the 2008 Continental Cup in Camrose, Alberta.

Ulsrud earned a silver medal at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, losing the final to Canada’s Kevin Martin. In a first for the Continental Cup, Murdoch, a two-time world champion, will be skipping an international team with Switzerland’s Ralph Stöckli and Simon Strübin playing third and lead respectively and Germany’s Andreas Lang as second. Edin is reigning European champion.

Wang, the 2010 Olympic bronze medallist, won the 2009 Mount Titlis World Women’s Championship. Schöpp is the defending world champion, her second such title, after winning the 2010 Ford World Women’s Curling Championship. Ott is a two-time Olympic silver medallist and finished fourth at the 2010 Olympics.

Team North America will be represented by four teams from Canada - skipped by Edmonton’s Kevin Martin and Kevin Koe, Calgary’s Cheryl Bernard and Winnipeg’s Jennifer Jones and two teams from the United States - skipped by Pete Fenson of Bemidji, Minnesota and Erika Brown, who now lives in Oakville, Ontario but is formerly from Madison, Wisconsin.

Their captain will be Ontario’s Neil Harrison of Newmarket, Ontario, a former world champion, while the coach will be three-time Brier (Canadian Men’s Championship) winner and two-time world champion Rick Lang of Thunder Bay, Ontario.

Martin, a four-time Brier winner, is the reigning Olympic gold medallist while Koe won the 2010 Capital One World Men’s Curling Championship in Italy. Bernard took the silver medal at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, while Jones is a four-time Scotties Tournament of Hearts (Canadian Women’s Championship) winner and 2008 Ford World Women’s champion. Fenson, the 2006 Olympic bronze medallist, and Brown are the current US national champions.

The Canadian sports channel TSN will provide exclusive and extensive coverage of the event, which is being sponsored for the first time by World Financial Group.


Fourth: David Murdoch** (Skip) (SCO)
Third: Ralph Stöckli Stoeckli (SUI)
Second: Andreas Lang (GER)
First/lead: Simon Strübin Struebin (SUI)

Fourth: Thomas Ulsrud* (Skip)
Third: Torger Nergård* Nergaard
Second: Christoffer Svae*
First/lead: Håvard Vad Petersson* Haavard

Fourth: Niklas Edin* (Skip)
Third: Sebastian Kraupp
Second: Fredrik Lindberg
First/lead: Viktor Kjäll Kjaell


Fourth: Bingyu Wang* (Skip)
Third: Yin Liu*
Second: Qingshuang Yue *
First/lead: Yan Zhou*

Fourth: Andrea Schöpp* (Skip) Schoepp
Third: Monika Wagner*
Second: Corinna Scholz
First/lead: Stella Heiss

Fourth: Mirjam Ott** (Skip)
Third: Carmen Schäfer* Schaefer
Second: Carmen Küng Kueng
First/lead: Janine Greiner**

Team World Captain: Pål Trulsen*** (NOR)
Team World Coach: Peja Lindholm** (SWE)


Fourth: Kevin Martin* (Skip)
Third: John Morris
Second: Marc Kennedy
First/lead: Ben Hebert

Fourth: Kevin Koe (Skip)
Third: Blake MacDonald
Second: Carter Rycroft*
First/lead: Nolan Thiessen

Fourth: Pete Fenson (Skip)
Third: Shawn Rojeski
Second: Joe Polo
First/lead: Ryan Brunt


Fourth: Cheryl Bernard (Skip)
Third: Susan O'Connor
Second: Carolyn Darbyshire
First/lead: Cori Morris

Fourth: Jennifer Jones* (Skip)
Third: Kaitlyn Lawes
Second: Jill Officer*
First/lead: Dawn Askin*

Fourth: Erika Brown** (Skip)
Third: Nina Spatola
Second: Ann Swisshelm
First/lead: Laura Hallisey

Team North America Captain: Neil Harrison (CAN)
Team North American Coach: Rick Lang (CAN)

*one-time Cup winner / **two-time Cup winner / ***three-time Cup winner (as player &/or captain/coach)

 Team Lists
 Media Release
Some files may require programs or viewers to open or view the download: Acrobat Reader