Sweden's Anette Norberg nominated for the 2011 Sportswoman of the Year Award

Sweden's Anette Norberg has been selected as a finalist for the 2011 Sportswoman of the Year (Team Sports Athlete) Award by the US-based Women’s Sports Foundation.

Photo: World Curling Federation/Richard Gray

Two time Olympic Gold Medallist Anette Norberg, from Sweden, continued to take the curling world by storm in the 2010-2011 season. She skipped a new team from her Olympic conquests to win the Swedish National Championships in February 2011 and onwards to sweep up her third World Championship title at the Capital One World Women’s Curling Championship in March in Denmark. Norberg’s team won the 2011 World Championship final against Canada 7-5 and finished the event on an 11-2 win-loss record. Norberg is the most successful female curling skip of all time. Her team performances have helped drive Sweden to the top of the World Curling Federation women’s world rankings.

Vote for Anette by clicking 'like' on the page and 'like' on her photo here on the Women's Sport Foundation Facebook site: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150263399171371&set=a.10150263392876371.326006.23658846370&type=1&theater


About the Award and the Women's Sports Foundation:
The Women's Sports Foundation’s 32nd Annual Salute to Women in Sports will celebrate the accomplishments of the top female athletes on Wednesday, October 19, 2011. The annual fundraising gala will take place at Cipriani Wall Street and will be hosted by journalist and sportscaster Bonnie Bernstein.

This year’s remarkable group of elite athlete finalists, representing 19 sports, is vying for the evening’s top honors – Sportswoman of the Year – in Individual and Team categories.

Each year, the top 10 candidates from various disciplines are chosen for the ballot, based on their record-breaking, historic, and simply amazing athletic performances. The Women's Sports Foundation recognizes these women for incredible achievements in individual and team performances, and the 2011 ballot is nothing short of extraordinary.

Athletes were considered for the 2011 ballot based on their athletic accomplishments between August 1, 2010, and July 31, 2011. Nominations for the Sportswoman of the Year - Individual and Team awards are made by sport governing bodies and the public. Sportswoman of the Year finalists will be voted on by the Foundation Awards Committee and the public beginning on August 25, through midnight EST on September 5, 2011. For the first time, voting will take place on Facebook. To vote, visit Facebook.com/WomensSportsFoundation and browse the photo albums for Individual Sport Athlete and Team Sport Athlete finalists. To cast your vote, simply “like” the photo of an athlete in each album - Team and Individual. Fans are permitted one vote in each album.

Sportswoman of the Year honorees will be announced during the Annual Salute to Women in Sports awards gala, as well as this year’s recipients of the Billie Jean King Contribution Award, Wilma Rudolph Courage Award and ANNIKA Inspiration Award. The Pac 12 Conference will also receive a special tribute during the evening’s festivities. The event is supported and attended annually by star athletes, celebrities from film and television, journalists, corporate and industry leaders, sports organizations and philanthropists.

The 2011 Sportswoman of the Year finalists in the Individual sport and Team sport categories are:

Individual Sport

Miki Ando, Figure Skating
Kelly Clark, Snowboarding Halfpipe
Missy Franklin, Swimming
Carmelita Jeter, Track & Field
Aliya Mustafina, Gymnastics
Christine Nesbitt, Speed Skating
Yani Tseng, Golf
Lindsey Vonn, Alpine Skiing
Mallory Weggemann, Paralympic Swimming
Caroline Wozniacki, Tennis

Team Sport
Luciana Aymar, Field Hockey
Annika Dries, Water Polo
Meghan Duggan, Ice Hockey
Juliana Felisberta and Larissa França, Beach Volleyball
Sandra Kiriasis, Bobsled
Maya Moore, Basketball
Anette Norberg, Curling
Shannon Smith, Lacrosse
Stacy Sykora, Volleyball
Abby Wambach, Soccer

Past Sportswoman of the Year recipients include…

Individual: Nastia Liukin, Gymnastics; Lorena Ochoa, Golf; Erin Popovich, Paralympic Swimming; Michelle Kwan, Figure Skating; and Gail Devers, Track & Field

Team: Jessica Mendoza, Softball; Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh, Beach Volleyball; Lisa Leslie, Basketball; Serena and Venus Williams, Tennis; and Mia Hamm, Soccer