Curling at the Paralympics

The first World Wheelchair Curling Championship was held in January 2002 and in March that year, the International Paralympic Committee granted official medal status to Wheelchair Curling for mixed gender teams.

Canada won gold medals at the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games Photo: WCF/Alina Pauliuchyk

The Organizing Committee of the Turin 2006 Paralympic Winter Games agreed to include Wheelchair Curling in their programme.

Wheelchair Curling made its second appearance at the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games.

Eight teams participated in Turin. The number of teams competing in the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games was increased to ten.

For more information about the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games, visit the official curling competition website:

Past Paralympic Winter Games Results

Year Host City Country Team Country Team Country Team
2014 Sochi CAN 4 Jim Armstrong (Skip) RUS 4 Andrei Smirnov (Skip) GBR 4 Aileen Neilson (Skip)
3 Dennis Thiessen 3 Alexander Shevchenko 3 Gregor Ewan
2 Ina Forrest 2 Svetlana Pakhomova 2 Robert McPherson
1 Sonja Gaudet 1 Marat Romanov 1 James Gault
A Mark Ideson A Oksana Slesarenko A Angie Malone
2010 Vancouver CAN 4 Jim Armstrong (Skip) KOR 4 Hak Sung Kim (Skip) SWE 4 Jalle Jungnell (Skip)
3 Darryl Neighbour 3 Myung Jin Kim 3 Glenn Ikonen
2 Ina Forrest 2 Kilwoo Park 2 Patrik Burman
1 Sonja Gaudet 1 Mi-Suk Kang 1 Anette Wilhelm
A Bruno Yizek A Yang Hyun Cho A Patrik Kallin
2006 Turin CAN 4 Chris Daw (Skip) GBR 4 Frank Duffy (Skip) SWE 4 Jalle Jungnell (Skip)
3 Gerry Austgarden 3 Michael McCreadie 3 Glenn Ikonen
2 Gary Cormack 2 Tom Killin 2 Rolf Johansson
1 Sonja Gaudet 1 Angie Malone 1 Anette Wilhelm
A Karen Blachford A Ken Dickson A Bernt Sjöberg