Wheelchair curling to begin at Paralympic Winter Games

Sweden at the KUNTAI World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2021, Beijing, China © WCF / Alina Pavlyuchik

The Paralympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 wheelchair curling competition will be taking place in the National Aquatics Centre from Saturday 5 until Saturday 12 March.

The field is composed of 12 teams — reigning Paralympic champions China, Canada, Estonia, Great Britain, Korea, Latvia, Norway, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland and United States. China have qualified as host nation, while the 11 teams with the most points cumulated from their performance at the 2019, 2020 and 2021 World Championships complete the Paralympic curling field.

Team China © WCF / Alina Pavlyuchik

The competition gets underway at 14.35 on Saturday 5 March with four round-robin games, including the re-match of a semi-final from the 2018 Paralympics, between China and Canada. The round-robin stage will conclude with session 17 at 19.35 on Thursday 10 March. The semi-finals will be held at 14.35 on Friday 11 March with 2v3 and 1v4 playing each other.

The Bronze Medal Game will be played right after the semi-finals, at 19:35. The Gold Medal Game will be held on Saturday 12 March at 14:35. The full playing schedule for the Paralympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 can be found here.

Currently, China are the defending Paralympic champions, with Norway taking silver and Canada winning bronze in 2018.

All times are China Standard Time (CST) which is Universal Coordinated Time (UTC) +8 hours and Eastern Standard Time (EST) +13 hours.

Engage with the World Curling Federation ahead of the Beijing 2022 Paralympic Winter Games on TwitterInstagram, Facebook and Weibo and by searching the hashtag #Beijing2022 #wheelchaircurling

Beijing, China

1 March 2022
Paralympic Winter Games
Wheelchair Curling