Canada win gold © WCF / Alina Pavlyuchik

Canada win gold at the World Wheelchair-B Curling Championship 2019

Canada are the gold medal winners at the World Wheelchair-B Curling Championship 2019 after defeating Sweden, 6-1, in Monday (2 December) afternoon’s final at the Kisakallio Sports Institute in Lohja, Finland.

Reaching the final ensured that both Canada – skipped by Mark Ideson, with fourth Jon Thurston, third Ina Forrest, second Marie Wright and with support from alternate, Dennis Thiessen and coach Wayne Kiel – and Sweden had already secured their place in next year’s World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2020, taking place in Wetzikon, Switzerland from 29 February to 7 March.

Sweden – skipped by Viljo Petersson-Dahl, with third Mats-Ola Engborg, second Ronny Persson, lead Kristina Ulander, alternate Zandra Reppe and with support from coach Alison Kreviazuk – took home the silver medals.

At the same time, the bronze medal game took place, with the winner receiving the last world championship spot along with their bronze medals.

In that game, Czech Republic – skipped by Dana Selnekovicova, aided by fourth player Radek Musilek, second Martin Tluk, lead Jana Brincilova, alternate Stepan Benes and assisted by coach Helena Barkmanova – defeated Slovenia, 10-7.

You can follow the World Curling Federation on TwitterInstagramFacebook and Weibo and by searching the hashtags, #curling

Lohja, Finland

2 December 2019