World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2019

International wheelchair curling returns this Friday (9 November), for the first time since March’s Paralympic Winter Games in Gangneung, South Korea, with the World Wheelchair-B Curling Championship 2018 in the Kisakallio Sports Institute in Lohja, Finland.

This qualification event will see the three medallists at the end of the competition secure places in the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2019, to be held in Stirling, Scotland from 3-10 March, next year. With 12 competing Member Associations, this will be the first World Wheelchair Curling Championship since 2006 to have more than 10 teams.

Some 14 teams will compete in the B-event and are split into two groups of seven. The groups are:

Group A: Czech Republic, England, Estonia, Italy, Slovenia, Slovakia and Turkey.
Group B: Denmark, hosts Finland, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Sweden.

After 13 sessions of round-robin play, the two teams at the top of each group will progress to the semi-finals. A qualification round will be played between the team in second place in Group A and third place in Group B and between the teams that are third in Group A and second in Group B.

At the end of the competition all three medal winners – gold, silver and bronze – earn a place at the Worlds joining the already qualified Norway, Russia, Scotland, China, Canada, Korea, United States, Switzerland and Germany (ordered based on the final ranking from the 2017 Worlds).

The round-robin portion of the event begins at 17:30 on Friday and runs until the following Wednesday (14 November). That last session of round-robin games is at 09:30.

The qualification games are at 17:30 on the Wednesday, followed by the semi-finals at 09:30 on Thursday (15 November) and then the gold and bronze medal games at 14:30. All times are Eastern European Time (EET), which is +2 hours from Universal Coordinated Time.

All the competing Member Associations have played in this event before, but for three of the skips they arrive in Lohja having represented their country at the Paralympic Winter Games, in South Korea, in March.

They are the skip of the host nation, Finland, Yrjo Jaaskelainen; Slovakia’s skip Radoslav Duris and Sweden’s skip Viljo Petersson Dahl.

The World Wheelchair-B Curling Championship 2018 is the qualification event for the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2019. Therefore, to follow the build-up to the Worlds in March and coverage of both events, follow the World Curling Federation on Twitter, Instagram (@worldcurling) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation) and by searching the hashtag #WWhCC2019 #curling

Lohja, Finland

5 November 2018